Box Pleat Blouse

A month or more since I started this blog and I’m finally getting around to a decent post!

So let’s get to it. I bought the Butterick “FAST & EASY” pattern B5354 a few months ago. I had already bought some bamboo knits at the 2014 Quilting and Sewing Expo in Lakeland, so I figured this would be a *fast and easy* blouse to make! Pattern cutting was a breeze, but the first time making box pleats threw me for a loop! A two hour loop! A bunch of re-reading the instructions, a few google searches later, and voila! The pinning is done!

IMG_0914-0.JPG

Off to the sewing machine and here is what the back looks like after the box pleats are completed.

IMG_0911-0.JPG

And the front…

IMG_0910-0.JPG

I was pretty pleased after this part!

Pause for a few weeks while I clean house, focus on work, paint a cabinet and sandwich a quilt! Finally, after 3 hours of sewing the pieces together, wrestling with the seam ripper (this is bamboo knit, remember?) and sewing it back together…ta-da!

IMG_0913.JPG

Note to self: invent a GPS tracking device for seam rippers!

Leave a Reply

